top of page
Faith Elicia-Do You See What I See (5).png


Other Specified Feeding or Eating Disorders

Many people with an eating disorder do not meet the diagnostic criteria for anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa or binge eating disorder. There is no consensus over how to refer to these states, so they are often described as ‘atypical’ eating disorders – even though in some settings they are more common than the ‘typical’ ones.


Confusing matters further, the terminology used by the DSM to refer to these conditions has changed from eating disorder not otherwise specified (EDNOS) to other specified feeding or eating disorder (OSFED).


The new DSM-5 diagnosis ‘avoidant/restrictive food intake disorder' (ARFID) is not classed as an OSFED (atypical eating disorder).

National Guideline Alliance (UK). Eating Disorders: Recognition and Treatment. London: National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (UK); 2017 May. (NICE Guideline, No. 69.) 9, Treatment and management of atypical eating disorders (eating disorders not otherwise specified)

Available from:

bottom of page